My Oldest Friend’s Voice

My oldest friend called me yesterday. Here is how he greeted me, “Hey, what are you doing?” I am blown away that I knew who it was when he said “Hey.” How can someone whom you speak to maybe once every two years have such a familiar voice? How can we recognize it so quickly without any descriptors? It is the same with my wife and family. But you would expect that for we converse quite often. Daily even. But my friend whom I have known since 1967? Once every 2 or 3 years? How is that possible?

When I heard his voice, I was filled with joy and delight. His voice brought back waves of wonderful coming-of-age memories. Memories of fort-building, cowboy and Indian wars, Klingon invasions, climbing Old Baldy and Split Rock, basketball victories and other wonderful memories of when we were young. Just the sound of his voice…

Sweetheart Banquet in 8th grade

Sweetheart Banquet in 8th grade

I don’t know if we will ever fulfill our vow we made at age 13 to take our future wives to the ledge on the upper part of Split Rock. I don’t know if we could make the climb. We are both grandparents now. Don’t know if we will ever go back to the caves we found on Old Baldy with the bats hanging upside down. We even named the caves: TAP and JOC. (Those are our initials.) I always liked his initials better. Sounded cool, “TAP.” Saying mine out loud made me blush at age 12, “JOC.”

Here is the truth: Tim’s voice is carved deeply into my memory. I may not hear that voice very often but it is so important to me that there is instant recognition; immediate affection and joy.

Knowing a friend over time arouses deep affection.

Jesus said, “My sheep hear My voice, and I know them…” Can you get your head around that? Instant recognition, immediate affection…intimacy with the Almighty.

Does it get any better than that?

One thought on “My Oldest Friend’s Voice

  1. So true! He does know our name. Too often we are like the friend that does not call often. What a challenge for us…we are to “call” on Him.

Leave a Reply

