The Heart of Oso

Rush of my Heart

Why would I chase sleep tonight when I know I’ll never catch it?

I’d rather linger here, here by the fire, long after this day falls away like the rain and a new one begins.

How do I tell you about that day? How do I begin to express the feelings rooting me together?

ImageWe were driving on March 22nd when I got a text from my brother.

“Making sure you’re safe – landslide on 530.”

We talked for a minute more, enough to know that neither one of us really knew anything – except that my dad was heading into it to act as a chaplain.

I had no idea.

I had no idea. 

We continued on through the snowy mountains, the road carrying us towards the beautiful Bavarian village of Leavenworth for my pre-birthday trip. The long drive through the logging towns and quiet, frost covered woods was just…

View original post 1,688 more words

Leave a Reply

